Français
Jean-Baptiste Tournassoud
Photographer (1866 - 1951)
Home   |   Biography   |   Photographs   |   Bibliography   |   Technique   |   Association

Military Life

Photography was already a passion for Jean Baptiste Tournassoud when he decided in 1892 to make a career in the army. He would always carry with him his photographic equipment and thus quite naturally he photographed what surrounded him: daily life of the barracks, portraits of soldiers, and horses of his regiment. As he will later do so often, Tournassoud mastered constructed narrative photography or tableaux photography reminiscent of a painter, with a great focus on light and composition.

His talents of photographer were quickly recognized and he was assigned to several photographic missions at the beginning of World War I: in addition to receiving the Military Cross medal for his acts of bravery, he also received a special award for his photographic achievements. (See Chronology)

In 1918 he was the Managing Director of the Photographic and Cinematographic Services of the Army, which reported to the Ministry of War.

During the war years (1914 to 1918), which he mostly spent on the front lines, Tournassoud made over 3000 war photographs taken at the various active war zones and more than 800 Autochrome plates

In addition to the War Scenes or the life of the camp, Jean Baptiste Tournassoud made portraits of the great military French figures of the time: Foch, Joffre, Pétain, Nivelle, Weygand, Lyautey, Mangin, Debeney etc. A friend of Georges Clemenceau, he made also several portraits of the "Tiger" (as Clemenceau was affectionately known in France during the war), these portraits were eventually exhibited at the Clemenceau Museum, in Paris.

During this period, a great many number of his war photographs were published in such French magazines as " L' Illustration", "Sur le Vif" or " Pages de Gloire" "le Monde Illustré", "Le Nouvelliste" etc.

In 1919, Tournassoud mounted an exceptional exhibit of his finest prints of war entitled "Subjects of War 1914-1919". That exhibit traveled to many of France's large cities (Paris, Lyon, Strasbourg, Metz, Colmar, Mulhouse.). Not only a recognized photographer, Tournassoud was also an excellent technician in the darkroom. His prints, all which he made himself, are, in their tonalities, of an exceptional quality, true artist proofs. Several postcards were published from this collection.

As a foreword to the catalogue of the Exhibit, Major Tournassoud wrote:

"Far from me the thought to make, with my limited resources, a photographic history of the war... I only sought to note my personal memories and impressions, sometimes amusing and comforting, too often, alas! full of sadness and of indignation... If I could obtain some happy results, I owe them to Messrs Auguste and to Louis Lumiere, my guides, who led me for many years in the artistic way, and I would be very grateful if they would allow me to dedicate to them the whole of these memories as a testimony of my admiration and my recognition" Paris, February 23, 1919. Major Tournassoud.

A splendid portfolio entitled "1914-1919, The War, 150 Artist plates from the personal collection of Major Tournassoud" was published. Marechal Petain, who had been the Commander in Chief of the French Army, prefaced the book by outlining the quality of this work:
"Your prints... say with an unequalled eloquence all the picturesque and the tragedy of this war. Miseries of the invasion, glories of our resistance and of our victory".

Major Tournassoud kept close links with the army after his retirement in 1921. In 1929, he published a very beautiful booklet entitled "the Artillery Military Academy of Poitiers" (about sixty photographs describing the instruction & training reserved to the Cadet-Officers)

Autochrome plates:

Tournassoud was a close friend of the Lumière brothers: it is with them that he learned how to exercise artistic control over the photographic process. As early as 1903, he was one of the very few photographers who took part in the testing and developing of the Autochrome plate that the Lumières will commercially introduce in 1907. Thus, Jean-Baptiste Tournassoud became a pioneer at the dawn of a new art: color photography.

In 1914, he was one of the very first photographers to document war in color: life in the trenches, life behind the lines, the grub of the camps, the war fronts, the charges with the bayonet, the "Poilus" as the French infantry men were known, the colonial troops, the property damages caused by the bombardments. He documented all in a unique and fascinating way.

"... In its capacity as official military photographer, JT is on the first row of the tragic fighting which transform North East of France into zone of desolation... (Ruins of Reims, Noyon)... he takes us behind the lines where he shows us the spectacle of the tragic struggles (Verdun besieged in 1916, the trenches near the Somme river during the same year). He covers a large range of territory in addition to the active war zones of North Eastern France. In 1916, he goes to North Africa and carries out a photographic reportage of the prisoner camp of Tizi-Ouzou. Other prints still reveal to us the little known aspects of the war by embedding us into the elite regiments which were furiously fighting in the Vosges.

The photographs of Jean Tournassoud abound in many exceptional details that provide a very precise portrait of this war.... the greatest anachronism as Tournassoud captures it thanks to the color - lies however in the glowing of the flashy French uniforms which transform the soldiers into genuine practice targets. These extravagant military uniforms unfortunately proved very expensive in human lives during first months of the war. Soon the red trousers and the blue jackets are quickly replaced by colors of camouflage - a dusty blue uniform and a kaki combat dress - better adapted....

Tournassoud took many pictures of the highly colored parade uniforms of many elite regiments (Spahis, Zouaves) recruited in North Africa: embroidered short jackets, red puffing trousers and hats, red trousers and blue berets of the alpine regiments...

Several photographs show the Senegalese regiments in the white trousers, the uniform at the beginning of the war. Others reveal the changes dictated by the circumstances: terns fatigue dress and steel helmets, a soldier in full battle gear which includes among other things a tin plate, a blanket and a pair of spare shoes.

We have also a good sense of the racial mix on the French side - with the Russian allies and the "imported" troops of the French African and Asian colonies... Behind the lines, the photographs give an outline of the life of the camp: daily drudgeries of earthwork, the laundry and the mending of the uniforms, humorous attempts at decoration of the tents and the mess in make believe. But over all that, they reveal the sad and tired faces of the soldiers...

Tournassoud colors plates provided us a very lively image of the war but at the same time a singularly deformed one. Indeed, when using these color plates, it must give up the speed advantages that the black and white possesses. The very long exposure time makes it impossible to capture the action on the photography... Tournassoud uses the realism of the color to fix symbolic details such as the banner of the regiment, the ruined landscapes, the trenches and the battered defensive stations.
(Extracts from Philippe Garner's book "War's Glorious Art" (1978) on Tournassoud's Autochromes( translated from the French version: Jean Tournassoud, l'Album-Photo de la Grande Guerre)

Tournassoud's files reveal many negatives and black and white photographic prints which are similar to the Autochrome plates: Tournassoud indeed was accustomed to doubling his images with one image in black and white and one in color.

In 1973, Mick Micheyl, Tournassoud's granddaughter, generously gave a gift of the collection of war photographs, including approximately 600 autochromes, taken by Major Tournassoud to the ECPA (Cinematographic and Photographic Establishment of the Armies) now called the ECPAD (Establishment of Communication and Audio-visual Production of Defense.

Warning: include(../header.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/content/59/6433659/html/photo/militaire.php on line 8

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening '../header.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5_3/lib/php') in /home/content/59/6433659/html/photo/militaire.php on line 8

Le Photographe Militaire

La photographie était déjà une passion pour Jean Tournassoud lorsqu'il décida en 1892 de faire carrière dans l'armée. Il emportait partout avec lui ses appareils et c'est donc tout naturellement qu'il fixa sur la plaque argentique ce qui l'entourait : la vie de la caserne, les portraits de militaires, les chevaux de son régiment. Comme il le fera souvent par la suite, il utilise déjà la mise en scène et compose ses clichés à la manière d'un peintre, conscient de la lumière et de la composition.

Ses talents de photographes furent rapidement reconnus et on lui assigna au début de la guerre de fréquentes missions photographiques : décoré de la Croix de Guerre à deux palmes pour ses actes de bravoure, il est également titulaire d'une citation spéciale pour ses réalisations photographiques. (Voir biographie et carrière militaire).

En 1918 il occupe le poste de directeur du Service Photographique et Cinématographique de l'Armée, attaché au ministère de la Guerre.

Durant les 4 années de guerre, passées le plus souvent en première ligne, Tournassoud réalisera près de 3000 photos de guerre prises sur les différents fronts et plus de 800 Autochromes.

Outre les scènes du front ou de la vie du camp, Jean Tournassoud réalise les portraits des grandes figures militaires de l'époque: Foch, Joffre, Pétain, Nivelle, Weygand, Lyautey, Mangin, Debeney etc. Ami de Georges Clemenceau, il fit aussi de nombreux portraits du « Tigre » (exposés au musée Clemenceau).

Pendant cette période un grand nombre de ses photos de guerre paraîtront dans des magasines illustrés tels que « l'Illustration », « sur le Vif » ou encore « Pages de Gloire » « le Monde Illustré », « Le Nouvelliste » etc.

En 1919, Tournassoud réalise 1200 tirages de ses meilleures photos de guerre pour une exposition « Sujets de Guerre 1914-1919 »  qui sera présentée dans plusieurs villes de France (Paris, Lyon, Strasbourg, Metz, Colmar, Mulhouse..). Photographe accompli, Tournassoud était aussi un excellent technicien au laboratoire. Ses tirages, tous réalisés de sa main sont, dans le rendu des tonalités, d'une qualité exceptionnelle : de véritables épreuves d'artiste. Un certain nombre de cartes postales ont été éditées à partir de cette collection.

Le Commandant Tournassoud écrit en préface du catalogue d'exposition:

« Loin de moi la pensée d'avoir voulu faire, avec mes faibles moyens, une histoire de la guerre, par la photographie......J'ai cherché seulement à noter mes souvenirs et impressions personnels, quelquefois amusants et réconfortants, trop souvent, hélas ! faits de tristesse et d'indignation......Si J'ai pu obtenir quelques heureux résultats, je les dois à Messieurs AUGUSTE et LOUIS LUMIERE, mes Maîtres, qui me guident depuis de longues années dans la voie artistique. Je les prie de bien vouloir me permettre de leur dédier l'ensemble de ces souvenirs comme témoignage de mon admiration et de ma reconnaissance. »
Paris, 23 février 1919. Commandant Tournassoud.

De cette exposition sera tiré un magnifique volume intitulé « La guerre 1914-1919 », composé de 150 planches artistiques en phototypie double ton, sur planches séparées, en format 25x32 le tout présenté dans un « étui de reliure amateur ». Le Maréchal Pétain, préfaçant l'ouvrage, signale la qualité de l'oeuvre :
« Vos documents... disent avec une éloquence inégalée tout le pittoresque et le tragique de cette guerre. Les misères de l'invasion, les gloires de notre résistance et de notre victoire ».

Bien qu'ayant pris sa retraite en 1921, le Commandant Tournassoud gardera longtemps des liens étroits avec l'armée : en 1929 il publie une très belle brochure sur « l'Ecole Militaire d'Artillerie à Poitiers » (une soixantaine de photographies décrivant l'instruction réservée aux Elèves-Officiers de Réserve et aux Elève-Officiers d'Active).

Les Autochromes:

Tournassoud était un ami intime des frères Lumière : c'est auprès de ceux-ci qu'il apprit à maîtriser avec tant de talent la plaque argentique. Dès 1903 il fut l'un de ceux qui participèrent aux essais de mise au point de la plaque Autochrome que les Lumière commercialiseront officiellement en 1907. En utilisant la plaque Autochrome dès ses débuts, Jean Tournassoud fait ainsi figure de pionnier au seuil d'un art nouveau : la photographie en couleurs.

En 1914 il sera l'un des tous premiers à documenter la guerre en couleur : témoignages sur les tranchées, la vie derrière les lignes, la tambouille des camps, le front, les charges à la baïonnette, les poilus, les troupes coloniales, les dégâts matériels occasionnés par les bombardements Il réalise ainsi des documents uniques et fascinants.

« ...En sa qualité de photographe militaire officiel, JT se trouve aux premières loges des combats tragiques qui transforment le Nord Est de la France en zone de désolation... (ruines de Reims, Noyon)... il nous entraîne à sa suite derrière les lignes où il nous offre le spectacle des combats tragiques (Verdun assiégée en 1916, tranchées de la Somme au cours de la même année). Il se déplace beaucoup, ne limitant pas son rayon d'action au seul front nord-est. En 1916 il se rend en Afrique du Nord et effectue un reportage sur le camp de prisonniers de Tizi-Ouzou. D'autres clichés encore nous dévoilent les aspect peu connus de la guerre en nous introduisant dans les régiments d'élite qui se battent furieusement dans les Vosges.

Les photos de Jean Tournassoud regorgent de détails exceptionnels dont l'ensemble brosse un portrait très précis de cette guerre.... le plus grand anachronisme - Tournassoud le souligne grâce à la couleur - réside cependant dans la rutilance des uniformes français qui transforment les soldats en véritables cibles d'entraînement pour jeunes recrues. Cette fantaisie vestimentaire coûte malheureusement très cher en vies humaines au cours des premiers mois de la guerre. On remplace bientôt les pantalons rouges et les vestes bleues par des couleurs de camouflage - un uniforme bleu poussiéreux et une tenue de campagne kaki - mieux adaptées....

Tournassoud photographie les uniformes hauts en couleurs de nombreux régiments d'élite ( Spahis, Zouaves) recrutés en Afrique du Nord qui arborent de courtes vestes brodées, des pantalons rouges bouffants et des toques rouges, les régiments de montagne avec leur pantalons rouges et leurs bérets bleus...

Certaines photos montrent des tireurs d'élite Sénégalais dans le pantalon blanc qui fait partie de leur uniforme au début des hostilités. D'autres révèlent les changements dictés par les circonstances : les ternes tenues de corvée et les casques d'acier, un soldat chargé de son paquetage qui comprend notamment une gamelle, une couverture et une paire de chaussures de rechange.

Nous avons aussi un aperçu du mélange des races engagées du côté francais - avec les alliés russes et les troupes « importées » des colonies... Loin du front, les photos donnent un aperçu de la vie du camp : les corvées quotidiennes de terrassement, la lessive et le racommodage des uniformes, les tentatives humoristiques de décoration des tentes et des niches en trompe-l'oeil. Mais par-dessus tout cela, elles révèlent les visages tristes et las des combattants...

Les plaques en couleurs de Tournassoud nous ont fourni une image très vivante de la guerre mais en même temps une image singulièrement déformée. En effet, pour utiliser ces plaques, il doit sacrifier les avantages que confère la rapidité des films noir et blanc. Le temps de pose très long rend impossible toute photographie d'action...Tournassoud se sert du réalisme de la couleur pour fixer des détails symboliques tels que la bannière du régiment, les paysages désolés, les ruines des tranchées et des postes défensifs.

Ceci explique la netteté un peu théâtrale de certaines images qui leur confère le caractère « amidonné » imitant les tableaux classiques d'une charge d'infanterie, de l'escalade d'une muraille ou de l'incarcération d'un soldat désobéissant. Pour cette raison, les photos les plus émouvantes sont celles qui ne cherchent justement pas à créer une fausse impression d'action ; la désolation des tranchées sous la neige et leurs arêtes couvertes de coquelicots des Flandres photographiés pour la première fois en couleurs...

(tiré du texte de Philippe Garner dans « Jean Tournassoud, l'album-photo de la Grande Guerre »)

On a retrouvé dans les archives de Tournassoud de nombreuses plaques argentiques et tirages photographiques en noir et blanc, similaires aux Autochromes : Tournassoud en effet avait l'habitude de doubler son travail en couleur par un ou plusieurs clichés en noir et blanc. (voire technique)

En 1973, l'ECPA (Etablissement Cinématographique et Photographique des Armées) maintenant appelé l'ECPAD (Etablissement de Communication et de Production Audiovisuelle de la Défense) a reçu en don grâce à la générosité de Mick Micheyl, sa petite fille, une partie de la collection de photos de guerre (dont environ 600 Autochromes) du commandant Tournassoud.

 









Warning: include(../footer.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/content/59/6433659/html/photo/militaire.php on line 79

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening '../footer.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5_3/lib/php') in /home/content/59/6433659/html/photo/militaire.php on line 79